#DISCVR is an artist introduction series dedicated to bringing you the rising acts before they make their break. Our unlimited access to music of all kinds is both amazing and overwhelming. Keeping your playlists fresh, we’ll be doing the leg work to help you discover your next favorite artist.


One of the hottest names out of Detroit in the past few years, fast rising rapper Kid Vishis releases his long awaited debut album “Timing Is Everything” on 22nd July.

The younger brother of Slaughterhouse veteran Royce da 5 9 began rhyming “downstairs in the family freestyle basement sessions” while still at high school before performing at local open mic nights. Such was the public response, word on the street reached his brother who put him to the test one night in the studio in 2003.

The result, a guest appearance on Royce’s M.I.C. mixtape followed by touring as hypeman, saw him perform freestyles to sell out crowds in Canada, California, Chicago, Virginia, Miami and New York, while sharing bills with Slum Village, Rakim, Ghostface, Slick Rick, Talib Kweli and many more.

He has since appeared on all 3 of his brother’s “Bar Exam” mixtapes in addition to the albums Street Hop and Success Is Certain, and released the first of his own “Sick Em” mixtape series Vishis Is Me in 2007.

The UK got a first look at this prodigious talent when he joined the D12 tour in the Spring of 2009. The rhyme skills and energy of his performances left a major impression and set down a strong early marker with international audiences.

Ahead of the release of his second mixtape “Sick Em Vol 2 – Bar 4 Bar” in 2011, a full page feature in HipHopDX brought him to the wider public’s attention, while the release in 2013 of “Vol 3 – I’m Alive” enhanced his reputation further as one of the most gifted emerging lyricists within the global hip hop community.

The new album is the product of years of hard work and dedication to his craft, a landmark release which fully announces his arrival. This is a showcase of Kid Vishis at his best, a highly skilled and experienced Emcee with the authority to hold down the album in his own right. Only on “Coward” is he joined by the album’s sole guest artist Royce da 5 9

Coast to coast, the album is represented in the production. Now based in Sacramento, Australian Chase Moore of Hippie Sabotage has once again provided the quality prevalent in his previous work with Raekwon, Rock (Heltah Skeltah), Mistah FAB and Papoose. New Jersey’s Nemisis (Tony Touch, Copywrite, Outerspace, Emilio Rojas) brings his trademark style to the table on “In Yo Face” and the single “Heaven” while Toronto is represented by Nick Zervos’ contribution to the title track.

Back on home territory, Mr Porter (D12 / Shady) gets in on the action by producing “Message To The MC’s” and “The Juice”.

All four producers provide the perfect backdrop for Vishis to bring his “A Game”, an unrelenting display of fierce rhyme skills and intelligent wordplay by a lyricist at the top of his form. The combination results in a contemporary classic born of a Golden era.

The inspiration behind the album can be gauged in Kid’s description of it as “the beginning of a Hip-Hop takeover” aimed at those “sick of club tracks and the same ol sound goin around, so just press play, enjoy & Sick ‘Em Sonny Jim !!!”

A self confessed boxing fanatic, Kid Vishis gives notice in the appropriately titled Timing Is Everything that he can go toe to toe with the best in the game, and will be a title contender for years to come.

With US, UK and European tour plans already in the works, Kid Vishis is going to be one to watch this year.

Pre-orders for Kid Vishis Timing Is Everything are now available at:www.seven13ent.com

Tracklisting for Kid Vishis “Timing Is Everything”:

1.) “T.I.E.” (Timing Is Everything Intro) (Produced by Nick Zervos)
2.) “Message To The Mc’s” (Produced by Mr Porter)
3.) “Look At All My Sh!t” (Produced by Chase Moore)
4.) “Beautiful Day” (Produced by Chase Moore)
5.) “Big Brothers” (Produced by Chase Moore)
6.) “Talk Behind My Back” (Produced by Chase Moore)
7.) “The Juice” (Produced by Mr Porter)
8.) “In Yo Face” (Produced by Nemisis)
9.) “Heaven” (Produced by Nemisis)
10.) “Birds Eye View” (Produced by Chase Moore)
11.) “Coward” f/ Royce da 5’9” (Produced by Chase Moore)

For More Information: